57. Goat Pupils

Did you know that goats have rectangular pupils? Check it:

3234566200_159bedcb6d

:man oh man, what a rectangle!:

I always try to respek the recommendations of my friends, especially when it comes to rectangular affairs. Sometimes they’re really lame. But sometimes my brilliant buds come up with great ideas. This one I owe to Ms. Jenny Akchin, who pointed me here to explore the rectangular-goat-pupil-theory. And – check it! It’s true.

goat-eye

:jenny's discovery:

goat-eye2

:all too rectangular:

Turns out there is a reason, of course. Wikipedia taught me that goats have adapted rectangular pupils to increase their peripheral depth perception. Whatever that means…

But guess what? Other animals have rectangleyes too! Apparently “cattle, deer, most horses and many sheep” all share this special phenom.

the_horses_eye_preview

:that's a hoss, yo:

Well, Jesus H. Christ. Rectangles never cease to amaze, huh?

phfffft

:goatyoat:

If only I had realized this when I had my own special experience with the goat world. Once my friend Daniel and I went to a “living history plantation” (seriously) and there was a petting zoo, consisting of two goats. One of them ate my necklace.

n1092240462_30226790_7286

:goat kissies:

I guess I was too distracted to check out his eyes.

n1092240462_30226792_9799

:cuz they're clearly rectangles:

November 15, 2009. Animals, Rectangles, Science, Truth.

6 Comments

  1. Daniel replied:

    LOVE THE LINK. props, yo.

  2. Jenny replied:

    yay!! I am part of the internet phenomenon sweeping the nation right now.

    But god help us if we get mistaken for squares.

    • Diego Montoya replied:

      And you’re cute to boot!

  3. Rectangular pupils | Alaskalanguage replied:

    [...] 57. Goat Pupils « Things That Are RectanglesNov 15, 2009 … Did you know that goats have rectangular pupils? Check it: 3234566200_159bedcb6d. :man oh man, what a rectangle!: I always try to respek … [...]

  4. Midaslii replied:

    I enjoy this site – its so usefull and helpfull.
    Regards – midsummer midsummer – K0nst4ntyn0

  5. efddf replied:

    This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me.

    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

