16. The Pageboy

Ok. I have a confession. 99% of the time, I love my curls. I love having a mop of crazy, unpredictable hair. But – every now and then – I wish I had stick straight hair so I could have a classic 1920’s flapper pageboy haircut.

 

:about as rectangular as a haircut can be:

:about as rectangular as a haircut can be:

Popularized by Louise Brooks (above) and other 20’s stars and debutantes, the page boy is a fabulous juxtaposition of masculine lines and feminine curves. The straight lines of the cut accentuate the most feminine features of a woman’s face – cheekbones, curves, lips. I wish that I could make my hair do anything like that, but instead I’ll have to settle for a more curly version. Lately I’ve been coveting short hair and bangs – who knows what could happen.

May 28, 2009. Fashion, Rectangles.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

