18. Scarves, feat. The Circle Game

 

:sugar's ass resting next to my masterpiece:

:sugar's ass resting next to my masterpiece:

This is a mind-blower, folks. Today’s rectangular object is a square (a.k.a., rectangular) scarf with a design made up of circles and ellipses. These shapes are most definitely not rectangles! Not only are they four whole sides short of four sides, but they don’t even have any right angles. Not one. Basically, they’re freaks. So try to stay with me on this one. I know there are a lot of different concepts to keep track of, but – just give it a try. 

 

The Circle Game is a complex pattern/game that I invented around 6 am after I had stayed up all night with Big Boy and our friend Dylan. It has rules that I’m not completely sure of now, but I know it has something to do with circles only being able to overlap sometimes and filling in certain empty spaces. I’ve played with different thickness of line, different size circles – but mostly only on the computer program Paint. Many of you probably remember making great works of art on Microsoft Paint in kindergarten or first grade. I never quit. (Props to Eric Anderson, by the way, for downloading the joy of Paint to my computer). The best part is, it’s still fun to play sober, or if you’ve gotten enough hours of sleep! If you can figure out the rules, please, by all means, play away.

Anyway, this is the first time that I’ve translated it to a hand-drawn medium. To make this scarf, I took a blank white bandana (50/50 cotton/polyester blend) and six different colored fabric markers. AND THEN I JUST DOVE RIGHT IN. 

Here is my finished product:

:my rectangular scarf, featuring the exotic and exciting ellipse:

:my rectangular scarf, featuring the exotic and exciting ellipse:

A close up of the pattern can be found at the top of the post, but I also thought I’d feature some of my previous circle-game-related masterpieces. 

 

:the inaugural circle game, displayed on a rectangular screen:

:the inaugural circle game, displayed on a rectangular screen:

 

:playing around with differences in thickness of the lines:

:playing around with differences in thickness of the lines:

 

:i think this was when i had been up for too long and my mental state no longer supported the rules of the circle game:

:i think this was when i had been up for too long and my mental state no longer supported the rules of the circle game:

Anyway, I think these are SWEET and I could probably work for Ikea. Stay tuned for a circle game themed dress? Who knows what could happen with all these shapes. Phew. 

 

:the circle game does sappy love letter:

:the circle game does sappy love letter:

June 4, 2009. Art, Fashion, Rectangles.

One Comment

  1. Daniel replied:

    they’re so beautifulllllll. I’m lost in your circle games. LOST.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

