33. Sheet Cakes

When I was little, there was a standing rule in my family that I wasn’t allowed to talk about my birthday until after New Year’s – 17 days before the event. Otherwise, I was insufferable.

I used to demand that my mother bake me a birthday cake and decorate it with elaborate designs. Once it had to be Mickey Mouse. Then it had to be a kitten. The designs got progressively more complicated and difficult. I’m pretty sure I did it just to torture my mom.

:all suff'ring mama:

:all suff'ring mama:

:celebrated mickey and minnie cake:

:celebrated mickey and minnie cake:

:third birfday. i'm in the yellow hat. i threw at least two tantrums:

:third birfday. i'm in the yellow hat. i threw at least two tantrums:

Today, I thought I’d feature some exquisite rectangular pastrilogical delights. Glorious works of art created on the most delicious quadrilateral canvas of all – THE SHEET CAKE!

My dear friends Daniel and Chandler once made it their mission to make some kickass cakes (inspired by Amy Sedaris) using only sheet cake and frosting. I’ve included a selection of my favorites.

:bandaid cake:

:bandaid cake:

:a steak carved from sheet cake!:

:a steak carved from sheet cake!:

:chandler with meatcake:

:chandler with meatcake:

:cigg cake - two rectangular things in one:

:cigg cake - two rectangular things in one:

And finally – this kitten cake wasn’t made by my mama. But I thought it should be included.

:my mom's kitty was better:

:my mom's kitty cake was better:

Daniel also offered me this link, for those cake lovers out there who just can’t get enough. PRETTY FUCKING SWEET! Literally.

PS: My birthday is January 17th, for the record. Don’t forget. Start preparing now. The celebration has been known to last for weeks. Even months.

October 5, 2009. Art, Food, Rectangles.

One Comment

  1. kseverny replied:

    cool stuff

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

