51. The Unicorn Story

When to be called ‘Virgin’ is an insult, to whom can a unicorn appear?

Best Story I’ve Ever Found On The Internet


Today my friends Joe, Max and Javier started talking about how great unicorn milk would be. (Why? Good question.) They were talking about yogurt, and they decided that unicorn milk would make the purest, daintiest yogurt ever. From there they moved on to Sasquatch milk – the manliest of milks, complete with lots of hair. Ergo, really manly yogurt.

I was sitting on the floor (taking up as little space as possible) and crocheting a rectangular scarf. It’s what I do.

Anyway, the boys’ weirdo conversation reminded me of the best story I ever read on the internet. I don’t even know how to preface it.

unicorn-papercraft

:i wish i'd made that:

Ok, guys. This story is really awesome. Assuming that by “awesome,” you mean “really fucking weird” and also “oddly Christian.” Don’t worry, it also involves furries, and cartoonists, and lots of other good stuff. And unicorns! Real, live unicorns. Who speak French and have heaving bosoms.

Enjoy!

LAgeDeRaison

:"the age of reason has no need for unicorns.":

Conversation with a Dying Unicorn

by Ken Pick

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED


The rumble of the garage door closing two floors down vibrated through my bedroom, followed by Steve’s motorcycle fading in the distance. With him gone to work, I could put in a couple hours without distraction before I had to crash for the night and go back to live-action Dilbert in the morning.

March was my month to catch up on my backlog of furry art projects, and I was finishing up the one original amid the xeroxed-and-inked copies of my doodle pile that I was sending off for a try at the conbook for the next AnthroCon. And deadlines for the conbook and at work had to coincide.

AnthroCon’s theme this year was “Join the Furry Revolution!”, and from the imagery on their Web page – Betsy Ross as a raccoon – they obviously were thinking “American Revolution.” As soon as I’d downloaded the detailed solicitation for conbook art, my mind had gone fiendish in a way it hadn’t in a long time. They wanted “Furry Revolution” art? They’ll get a Furry Revolution – just not the one they’re expecting!

I’d forwarded a copy of the conbook page and release form to Eric Blumrich – he drew his “revolutionary imagery” from the First Russian Revolution; that ought to be good for a few fried brains on the conbook staff. Steve had suggested a parody on Latin American banana republics and Clint something based on an Andrew Swann novel, but my neurons were already exploding down another path, prodded by memories of Tale of Two Cities, The Scarlet Pimpernel, and Here Comes a Candle. Why should Mary Hanson-Roberts be the only one of us to tap French Revolution imagery?

In all my life, I’ve only had one story, one possible paranormal experience, and two other pictures burst full-honk into my mind like this one – straight into my head, demanding to be drawn. A melodramatic, sort-of-Gothic horror piece – an anthropomorphic unicorn, traditional Western symbol of purity getting the chop during the Reign of Terror. Striking on the surface – the black silhouette of the guillotine looming over the white figure of the unicorn – and symbolic on a couple of levels, my commentary on attitudes both inside and outside the fandom.

I’d never done a unicorn before, but this one came out surprisingly well – sort of a Stephanie Peregrine style, with a facial expression mixing shock and dread that had come about completely by accident I’d dressed her in some simple generic period garb I remembered from my SCA days, and (after a hurried e-mail warning from Blumrich) given her enough points of difference from Vicky Woman’s “Empress Alicia” that no one could possibly confuse the two. Which, of course, guaranteed that some fanboy would. Even more striking when traced and cleaned-up, late at night on that light table at Kinko’s with nobody else in the store, afraid someone would see it and get the wrong idea.

And now, I was puffing the final touches on the piece. Actually, two pieces – an inked black-and-white version, Victim of the Furry Revolution, for the conbook and a color version, The Age of Reason Has No Need of Unicorns (L’Age de Raison n’a pas Besoin de Licornes), for the art show. I had just put my signet and date on the former – dated using the French Revolutionary Calendar – and was getting the release forms ready when the Reality Barrier broke.

“Why?” The voice was female, sweet and musical – and coming from inside the room, behind and to the left, from the direction of my bed.

“HUH?” I spun the desk-chair around, homing on the voice.

She was sitting on my bed. The unicornette, exactly as I had drawn her – white fur, disheveled golden mane, liquid golden eyes, petite cloven hooves, white peasant-blouse top and coarse white skirt soiled with prison dirt, hands/forehooves/whatever lashed behind her back and a large cork stuck on the end of her golden horn.

“If I am to be executed, Monsieur, I should at least know why.”

“You – You’re real?”

“Non, Monsieur.” She shook her head, golden mane falling half-over her eyes. “I live only in your mind, and there -” She angled her horn toward my drawing table and the artworks. “- I am about to die.”

tulpa – an imaginary construct that somehow jumps over Planck’s Wall into reality? Or just my neurons gang-firing from sleep deprivation and stress? Or subconscious storytelling making the jump into consciousness, like Clint’s characters telling him “how it really happened”? But in a full-sensory hallucination? The last time anything remotely resembling this had happened – “Thirty Seconds Over Narnia”, that possible paranormal experience – it had come in the form of a vivid mental image, not an apparently-solid critter materializing in front of me.

“You created me, Monsieur, and in creating me you condemn me to death,” she continued. “What crime have I committed to deserve la guillotine, to ‘sneeze into the sack’ before a cheering mob?”

“N-none; you’re – innocent.” Like so many others, from Paris to Phnom Penh, in the two centuries of revolutions patterned after the French.

“But of course I am innocent, Monsieur,” she said, getting the hair out of her eyes with a toss of her head. “I am a unicorn, Non?” She rose off my bed, the futon mattress rising as her imaginary weight left it, and stepped over to my drawing table, her hooves sounding daintily on the carpet. Eyes wide with wonder; she looked over the furry art hanging on the wall; then bending down, she pulled the lamp around with her horn and studied both unicorn-and-guillotine pictures intently.

After a moment she spoke again. “So why must I die unjustly? Do I represent something or someone you hate? Am I a martyr for some cause I know not what? Or do you simply wish to see a unicorn beheaded?”

“No, unicorn – I’m not completely sure myself.” I reached out to touch her on the shoulder; she felt solid, and warm. “If there’s any reason, you’re there because you’re a unicorn and what unicorns represent.”

“Explain, s’il vous plait?”

Great Where do I start? I tried to tell her how she first came to be, how the image of a unicorn going to the guillotine had come out of nowhere into my head and wouldn’t let go, how everything had just fallen into place when I’d gotten the details on AnthroCon’s theme and conbook.

How I’d poured myself into a picture for the first time in years, and how it had drained me afterwards, and how anything that could have that effect had to have power in it.

About causes gone lunatic, from Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité! to Prohibition to militant anti-smoking to Save the Fill-in-the-Blank to whatever was the latest Important Cause of the week, and how the perfect Utopian omelet always required smashing more and more eggs.

About my hyperactive, runaway imagination that had spaced me out until I was well into my twenties, and how that awe and wonder had worn down over the years – like my father; who had lost his ability to dream by the time I was old enough to notice.

How imaginary critters like her had been a part of that imagination as far back as I could remember -classic Poul Anderson and Andre Norton “aliens” with fur and tails, mythical critters like herself, a noble young white lion, a one-shot skunkette glamor-actress, two-legged talking beasts of every species. Then my own critters; imaginary playmates becoming safe rehearsals for how to act on dates which never came, finally growing into full-fledged characters and stories and art as I aged, all expressing what C. S. Lewis had expressed the best:

You had an animal with everything an animal ought to have – glossy coat, liquid eye, sweet breath, and whitest teeth; and added to all that, as though Paradise had never been lost and earliest dreams were true, the charm of speech and reason.

And how those “earliest dreams” had become “adult” nightmares – like that “furban legend” of a Blumrich rant, the one everybody claimed to have seen but nobody could produce a copy of, the one that goes on and on about all that these creatures of the imagination could do or be and ends with “And all you can think of doing with them is to draw them with their clothes off.”

And how dealing with the fandom – the Muckers, the yiffy-boys, the Spandex Commandoes, the way over-the-top lifestylers, with only the occasional thinker amid the droolers and foamers and wankers – had worn me down.

“But they’re not human! They’re Furry!” The cry of the fanboy always used to justify sick and twisted behavior of or towards the critters they’ve created – just like “But I was only role-playing my character” always justified any sort of treachery in D&D. Never uplifting the critters to their level and beyond – transcending the animal – instead of seeing how low they could go with them. Evenanimals eat, sleep, and play as well as rut.

If insanity was part of these times, we’d embraced the madness as thoroughly as Paris 207 years ago. Our mobs of fanboys howling for spooge, up to and including stuff that would make the Marquis de Sade vomit. Our factions and denunciations, our Girondists and Jacobins, our high-sounding Robespierres, our gloating Heberts, our vicious Marats.

And me? I’d come into this like Lafayette only to wind up with a rep like Dr. Guillotin, the part of me that could dream those “earliest dreams” slowly dying in writer’s block, artist’s block, stories sitting half-complete and art commissions sitting unsaturated for years. Until her.

Vive la Revolution de Pelage.

She listened quietly, with an occasional flick of her tail. When I finally finished rambling, she spoke again, thoughtfully.

“I believe I understand. I am the innocent who finds herself in the path of a cause so ‘righteous’ as to justify any evil. I am a creature of imagination, who cannot possibly exist in an ‘Age of Reason’, so I cannot be permitted to live. And to you, mon createur, who can see virtue only when embodied in such creatures of imagination, I am something else.”

“I represent what was worn away in you, what these – pelagists – throw away when they make of their creations less than animals.” She shrugged against her bonds. “You do not kill me, they do; your art but records the fact, and my – execution – mirrors what they have done and what they have become.” Her voice softened, turned even more thoughtful. “When to be called ‘Virgin’ is an insult, to whom can a unicorn appear?”

“To me.”

“Oui, and you know why.” Oh, I knew – all the years of embarrassment and ridicule, direct and indirect. The biggest continuing failure in my life; blindsided by another revolution, saving myself for a marriage that never came.

“Unicorn, I might be able to spare you. I’m no Scarlet Pimpernel, but -” I was babbling now, my stomach doing slow sick backflips. “- I can shred the pictures – or at least not submit them or show them. Nobody will ever see them, and you’ll keep your head.” I didn’t like destroying artwork, any artwork, especially my own – but ink on paper and Prismacolors on illustration board was one thing, but to actually take a living, breathing unicorn-girl – even in imagination – and slice off her head “NON!” A hoof stamped against the carpet, sounding through the room. She shook her head like a stallion in triumph, eyes flashing golden fire; I remembered the earliest tales of unicorns, and how they could vanquish elephants in a one-on-one fight.

“Mon createur, I now know I die for a reason, not just amusement or titillation.” She paused, seemed to shrink a bit. “You may take my head.”

Anything I said now was going to sound really stupid – especially so to an imaginary critter about to die an imaginary death – but I said it anyway. “I don’t want your head, unicorn. I don’t want you to die – not after actually meeting you.”

“Neither do I, but we both know I must. You drew me for a purpose, and I fulfill that purpose by giving up my life. And with that life you drive home your point” – she tapped my head with the corked tip of her horn – “to the mob. Perhaps some will listen.”

“They won’t.” I had enough experience along those lines – Clint quitting in disgust halfway through his grand story arc, Canuss gone to ground, Blumrich’s on-target rants, the pros who’d bailed because of “one fanboy too many”, the career-killing reputation of being “one of them!” More eggs cracked for the perfect Furry omelet. Vive la Revolution? Vive la Terreur.

“You don’t know that” She shrugged again. “The draw of the card, the roll of the dice – you never know the results before you make the attempt.” She took a deep breath, stretching the ropes that bound her; and power entered her voice. “And for whatever purity and virtue remains in you, and by my blood about to be spilled, YOU MUST MAKE THE ATTEMPT.”

She stood tall, head high, nostrils wide and eyes blazing. “And I shall be part of that attempt, sealed with the lifeblood of a unicorn. Perhaps my death will bring that part of you back to life.”

“Now, mon createur,” her voice returned to normal, “I ask one last favor from you, before I go.”

“What?” I had learned long ago never to answer “anything” to an open-ended favor – especially when magic was afoot – and physical courage was never one of my strong points. What could she want? She’d refused my offer to spare her; she was a classic unicorn of pre-mass-market Western Christian tradition, not some fanboy spooge-i-corn…

“I know I am not ‘real’, and do not die ‘for real’, yet still -” Her voice started to quiver; her expression changing to the one in the picture. “-I am afraid. Embrace me – s’il vous plait?”

I gathered her in my arms, crushing her against me until she stopped shaking, her heart hammering faster than mine at my father’s funeral; her breasts pressed against my ribs, her ear and mane tickled my nose and her snout rubbed against my cheek, her tail flicked against my thighs. So unicorns must have lain in the laps of other virgins, so long ago…

“Mon createur?”

“Yes?”

“I am honored to have spoken with you, as if I were real.” She pulled her head off my cheek and looked at me with great golden eyes. “I came from you, and I am always a part of you. You know Who we unicorns – at least our males – have symbolized in every Medieval Bestiary. You once wrote Stauros how much you ‘longed to romp and play with the furries in Aslan’s Land’. If and when you do, I pray that I shall be one of them – given substance in reality instead of imagination.”

I squeezed her tighter, kissed her on her snout, between the nostrils; her breath smelled like fresh roses mixed with cinnamon. She pulled back, blinked once in astonishment, then raised her head to where our mouths met – para-equine to human – and reciprocated with a long, gentle kiss. Just like my only girlfriend had, on our first date, all those years ago…

“Merci – and adieu.” She stepped back, radiant despite the bonds and prison dirt; I brushed her mane back from her eyes. “And now, if you will excuse me, I must go. La guillotine is waiting.”

And turning around, with head held high and tail flicking, she walked through the wall and was gone.

I told you it was fucking sweet. I told you there were furries. And also Christians ‘n’ virgins ‘n’ shit.

How is it rectangular, you ask? Duh! We’re all seeing it on a rectangular webpage! Whether that’s on the original angelfire page (seriously? that still exists?) or right here at Things That Are Rectangles – the rectangliest place around.

Also, the cartoon. Obvs a rectangle.

unicorn

:what a beautiful, sensuous creature:

 

So, virgins, good luck with those unicorns. I’ma go fuck some dudes. And it’s gonna be great.

November 4, 2009. Art, Culture, History, Rectangles, Religion, Websites.

13 Comments

  1. Eliza H replied:

    Marcus sent me this lovely interview:

    http://isigsf.tripod.com/id23.html

    • Headless Unicorn Guy replied:

      Since that interview, our novella “Dyads” has come out in the second volume of that anthology series, Infinite Space, Infinite God 2 (available online at both Amazon and Barnes & Noble), and we’re finishing up the episodic novel both “episodes” in ISIG came from.

  2. Eliza H replied:

    Ok. Also this.

    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/Ken_Pick

    That’s right. There’s a WikiFur, “the furry encyclopedia.”

    Ken Pick (complete name: Kenneth Pick. Born November 24, 1955) is an “Old School” furry from the 1980s and a former member of the Burned Furs and God’s Creatures. He is a senior computer programmer who became a furry artist and writer “to stay sane”.

    In furry art, he is best known for anthro foxes, unicorns, and rabbits, though his favorite species run more along the lines of felines, mustelids, and the non-yiffy, pre-1982 Skiltaire. His furry art is mostly portraits of retro-glam female furries.

    In the past couple years, Ken has stopped his furry art to concentrate on writing; he has published a number of stories and articles about the WebFed Universe in Yarf, background essays on Ken Fletcher’s Spontoon Island, and is currently working on collaborations with Heavy Horse and Chris Litzau and editing some of Eric Hinkle’s furry sword-and-sorcery as well as (slowly) continuing work on WebFed.

    He enjoys pencil/paper/funny-dice role-playing games, science fiction, military history, Catholic theology, Sixties/Eighties music, Sixties muscle cars, and “recreational thinking” and is often seen at conventions. Though sometimes drawing himself as a skunk with glasses, he could never settle on a fan name and uses his own.

    He currently lives in Southern California, U.S.A.

  3. Eliza H replied:

    Sorry. One more. I can’t resist. Also from WikiFur.

    “The Legion of the Headless Unicorn”

    The Legion of the Headless Unicorn (also known as Order of the Headless Unicorn or La Légion de la Licorne sans Têtes was a proposal put forth by furry artist Ken Pick in December of 1999 for a “honorary order for those Christian Furs who have been burned by Furry Fandom, or are trying to make it better against heavy odds.”

    The idea was first suggested on the original Christian Furs mailing list, God’s Creatures, hosted at that time at Catbox.com. The proposal — including idea for an award/medal (featuring a severed unicorn head) and “roll of honor” on the Burned Furs website — was simultaneously proposed on the (secret) Burned Furs mailing list, but never got further than the proposal stage.

    The name is derived from a picture by Ken titled “The Age of Reason Has No Need of Unicorns”, depicting a bound anthro unicorn mare facing the guillotine during the French Revolution. The picture premiered in the artshow at Anthrocon 1999 (Theme: “Join the Furry Revolution”) and was captioned with its title in French, “L’Age de Raison n’a pas Besoin de Licornes”. (A black-and-white preliminary of the picture also appeared in the Anthrocon program for that year; the original is currently in the collection of Vulpes Rex.)

    More about Christian Furries:

    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/Christian_Furs_(forum)
    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/God%27s_Creatures
    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/Furrs_Fur_Christ
    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/The_Unicorn_and_Gryphon
    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/Christian_Furry_Fellowship
    http://en.wikifur.com/wiki/Rainbow_Ark

    • Headless Unicorn Guy replied:

      Of these Christian Furry blogs:

      Christian Furs (forum) — don’t know about this one

      God’s Creatures (list) — I was on this one years ago. It self-destructed in an ongoing Creation-vs-Evolution flamewar that ended with only the Young Earth Creationism Uber Alles trolls left ranting on the list.

      Furrs Fur Christ — Don’t know much about this one; my writing partner said the group stagnated and petered out when one of its sysops went off the deep end a year or two ago. A lot of lists and forums on the Web tend to die off not with a bang but a whimper.

      Unicorn & Gryphon — Currently on this one; my writing partner is sysop/list moderator. Used to be pretty lively, but has had very little activity for the past couple years — mostly automated birthday announcements and “Stevie Waves!” RPing back-and-forth.

      Christian Furry Fellowship — First time I’ve heard of this one.

      Rainbow Ark — This one I HAVE heard of. Very Gay-oriented, to the point their Christian credentials are very much in doubt. May have been taken over by Gay Pride types at some point — on the Web, you can never tell for sure. Haven’t heard much about them in the past year or two.

      • Jarrell replied:

        I’m happy to report that Rainbow Ark is still around, we’re just suffering from LiveJournal’s decline as a platform. But we do exist in other forms, including Twitter, FurAffinity, Facebook, and our own website with its own forums. And no, we have not been taken over at some point by “Gay Pride types” *lol*. I’m the founder, and I’m still the mod, and we have the same vision we’ve always had, to make life a little better between LGBT and people of faith within the fandom, as well as for religious people who find themselves as orientations or GID other than straight. We’re mostly Christian members, including myself, but we also welcome all others. We feature inspirational messages, Bible studies, prayer, current events, issues which are of interest to LGBT people within a religious context. You’re welcome to give us a look around: myrainbowark.com

  4. Headless Unicorn Guy replied:

    And since then, I’ve had three SF stories published in small-press (though none involve unicorns).
    “Mask of the Ferret” in Infinite Space Infinite God;
    “Down to Cathuria” in Different Worlds, Different Skins;
    “Dyads” in Infinite Space, Infinite God II (release date Nov 15, 2010).

    Found this on a random search; still trying to wrap my head around it. A B&W version of the pic made it into the 1999 AnthroCon conbook, its genesis is pretty much as told in the story — ZANG! The story was also done for the conbook, but rejected due to length.

    • Headless Unicorn Guy replied:

      P.S. At least now when somebody asks how I got the handle, I’ll just point them to your bootleg here.

      (After AC1999, I couldn’t get any publisher interested in this to save my life. Too Furry (TM) for the mainstream and steps on too many toes in the Furry (TM) crowd. More bemused than anything else when I found it posted up here, bootlegged in the best possible format with the illo that inspired it at the top.)

  5. dota 2 treasure key hack 2014.rar replied:

    Hi! Your webpage is running slow , this went on sort of a moment to
    actually reload, I actually have no idea whether it is entirely me or perhaps your websites but twitter loaded for me.
    Around the other hand thank you for posting superb blog post.
    I suppose this has become beneficial to many people who came at this point.
    I should say that you really have done amazing work with this and expect to see
    many more wonderful stuff from you. I have got your site saved to bookmarks to
    check out blogs you publish.

  6. refnearn.com replied:

    Hello Your website starts up literally slow to me, I not really know who’s issue is that although
    flickr starts up extremely good. Anyways, Thanks for posting such
    a great blog post. I do believe it has already been seriously beneficial to
    visitor who visit here. I need to say that you actually have done excellent work with this and
    also wish to find out many more wonderful content from you.
    I already have your site book-marked to check out blogs you
    post.

  7. gta5ios.com replied:

    Hey Facebook works well but your website is starting
    steadily which went on around a few minutes to successfully load up, I’m not sure whether it’s my issue perhaps website problems.
    Anyway, I appreciate you for posting a remarkably amazing blog post.
    In my opinion this has already been totally useful to visitor who visit here.
    I am hoping I’ll be able to find further incredible things and
    I also should really flatter your site by telling you have
    carried out fabulous writing. I now have your site
    book-marked to see blog you publish.

  8. gta5android.com replied:

    Hey Google and yahoo performs well in my situation however your site
    is running slowly which actually went on nearly one minute to actually load,
    I don’t know if it’s my very own issue perhaps site problems.
    Nevertheless, I have to thank you very much for including brilliant blog post.

    Everybody who actually came to this website must have observed this informative article incredibly beneficial.
    I hope I will be able to find even more incredible information and I
    really should compliment your site simply by saying you have done good work.
    I have got you saved to my bookmarks to check blogs you
    post.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

