60. “Acid Tongue” by Jenny Lewis

 

:so pretty:

 

 

About a year ago, a friend recommended Jenny Lewis’ Acid Tongue to me. The album was released in September 2008 and I bought it in October. It took me a year to get around to listening to it, for a number of reasons. First, my CD drive broke in November. I finally got an external drive in August 2009. Second, I started feeling the pressure build up – after all, I’d had this album in my dresser for months. It was waiting to be listened to, eagerly. My good friend Joel had recommended it to me, so I felt that I had to hear it. And I like Jenny Lewis’ work with the Watson twins. So Acid Tongue had a lot to live up to.

It did, in every possible way.

This album makes me wish I had gone and gotten that external drive in November. It makes me wish that I hadn’t been so intimidated by the aesthetically pleasing packaging and the indie legacy of Lewis. Because I would’ve been listening to Acid Tongue on a loop every day – like I’ve been doing this week.

There are 11 tracks on this album, ordered beautifully and with care. It’s clear, when listening, that Lewis treats her album as a cohesive art form – each song flows into the next and complements those around it. My personal favorites are Lewis’ softer songs – particularly Black Sand, Acid Tongue and Godspeed – but the more upbeat pieces are also enjoyable, and offer a welcome respite from the sweetness of the songs surrounding them. See Fernando is a fabulous, more upbeat song that I like a lot.

Lewis’ voice is clear and pure, although she can add a throatier growl into her music if she needs to. The music is simple, yet well-arranged. And I can’t turn it off.

November 17, 2009. Music, Rectangles.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

