71. Sugar’s Birthday Cake

:snuggles with the birthday girl:

Sugar turns 10 today! So, like the good big sister that I am, I made her a cake.

In the shape of a rectangle.

I used a recipe found on this website for Peanut Butter Delight cake.

1 cup white or whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup shredded carrots
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup honey
1 egg

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C)

Mix together flour and baking soda. Add remaining ingredients and mix well. Pour into a ring mold sprayed with a nonstick spray for 40 minutes.

Featured below:

:from the website. not rectangular, not as pretty as mine:

And here’s mine.

This is the cake just after I baked it.

Below: The rectangular plate, Cake, Cream Cheese for icing

Then I took the cake OUT of the PAN. I separated the edges from the pan with a knife and it plopped right out. Yum!

But we ain’t done yet.

:frosting time!:

I used warm cream cheese.

:still frosting:

:all frosted!:

Then it was time to decorate.

:beautiful. but not done yet!:

I decorated with carrot shavings and dog food. Ain’t it pretty?

:oh my:

Anticipation:

Now for the eating:

:sugar! it's actually for you!:

:happy but confused (see tail):

:she started with the carrot-petals:

:then she discovered the icing:

:oh shit, is that dog food?:

:om nom nom:

:last few bites before mommy and daddy took it away:

Happy Birthday, Sugar! May you live to be 2,000 years old.

January 3, 2010. Animals, Art, Food, Rectangles, Websites.

One Comment

  1. Daniel replied:

    SO CUTE SO CUTE SO CUTE. Before my dogs were, like, the most high-maintainence animals on the planet, I used to bake them treats. true story.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

