111. Gucci Scarves

Finals are over now, so I’ve had a lot of time to devote to looking at expensive scarves on the internet. My most exciting discovery were V. Accornero scarves for Gucci.

:gorgeous:

Vittorio Accornero (1896-1982) was an Italian illustrator for many years before he began designing for Gucci. He invented his first pattern, “Flora,” for Grace Kelly, and his scarves were absolutely iconic in the 60s and 70s.

:flora, sorry it's so small:

I completely understand why.

Accornero first caught my eye on Ebay, with this scarf (in cream). The picture is terrible, but look closely.

:i liked it in cream:

Not only are the flowers and mushroooms unbelievably whimsical and opulent, but Accornero’s signature piece was integrating little bugs (beetles, flies, ladybugs, butterflies, etc) into his work. It’s unbelievable.

:detail of an accornero that i found:

Click here for pictures from a show, entitled “Giardini di Seta,” or Gardens of Silk, in a gallery in Italy.

December 16, 2010. Animals, Art, Culture, Fashion, History, Rectangles, Truth.

One Comment

  1. 123. My Guilty Pleasures, Part One « Things That Are Rectangles replied:

    […] I have many, and a lot of them I’ve already addressed here. Shoes, butter, fancy designer scarves. But these are my guilty pleasure websites. Yes, I have them bookmarked. No, I don’t share […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

