123. My Guilty Pleasures, Part One

Ok, I have many guilty pleasures, and a lot of them I’ve already addressed here. Shoes, butter, fancy designer scarves. But these are my guilty pleasure websites. Which, we’ve already established, are inherently rectangular. Yes, I have them bookmarked. No, I don’t share that with everyone. Although, I guess, now I do?

I’ve already mentioned the Craigslist personals, so I don’t need to go into more detail on those, but there are two more sites that I frequently waste (?) time on.

One is Cute Overload.

Their title: “Oh, just plant yourself anywhere.”

I am fairly obsessed with cute animals. I always stop dog owners on the street to pet their pups and stay awkwardly long. I just lurve de puppehs. But Cute Overload expands my animalove to other creatures!

They have a list of Rules of Cuteness , including #14: If an everyday, small item makes you look small, it’s cute, and #10: If you haven’t grown into your feet yet, it’s cute. They are just so right on.

And I have a soft spot for the silly cute language they’ve made up. Puppehs, snorgling, leetle nosicles…all these terms make me laugh every time I read them, even though they’re definitely stupid. But funny. But stupid.

Their title: “Knobbular enough there for ya?”

Also, I’m a big fan of the category “Interspecies Snorgling.” For some reasons, two different animal friends together makes me melt. Here are way too many examples, because I couldn’t pick just one.

Kitteh-fawn. I have a soft spot for deer. Partially because I think Buckley kind of looks like one.

Oh hai.

Typical cat and dog snorgling. Except with a fox, too.

Obvy this one wins.

The only thing I’m not with C.O. on are the hamsters. They just love the hammies. I just can’t get on the same page about those nasty rodents.

I’m sorry. I just don’t think it’s cute.

Anyway, if you’re bored or need some cuteness to cheer you up, I highly recommend a visit to Cute Overload.

September 12, 2012. Animals, Culture, Rectangles, Websites.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

