145. My Holiday Card

This year, I decided to send out a holiday card from me and Buckley. I bought matching green sweaters for us, but I wanted to make it one step kitschier. My friend Torie was going to take the picture for us, and she offered to photoshop us in front of a fireplace. And then I had a brilliant idea.

I’d make my own fireplace.

I went to a store and bought some colored poster board, and set to work. I love working with cut paper – it’s the one time my art projects turn out at all decent looking.

Here is the evolution of my fireplace, from start to finish.

Just some brixxx

Just some brixxx

Fireplace and mantle done, plus bonus shot of Buckley's hot bod.

Fireplace and mantle done, plus bonus shot of Buckley’s hot bod.

Some family pictures added - one is me, one is the dog.

Some family pictures added – one is me, one is the dog.

A vase and the beginnings of a plant!

A vase and the beginnings of a plant!

More leaves.

More leaves.

Some logs and fire.

Some logs and fire.

All done! Home sweet home.

All done! Home sweet home.

 

So, my fireplace was complete. Next step was to take some photos. Torie did an excellent job, and we came out with a fantastic photo. I sent it out last week, and have gotten some great feedback already! Here’s the one we chose:

Happy Holidays from Buckley and Eliza!

Happy Holidays from Buckley and Eliza!

I totally love how it turned out! I think I’m hilarious.

Plus, bonus pics of Buckley in a sweater.

I see you have sausage in your hands...Can I have it?

I see you have sausage in your hands…Can I have it?

Ok, but I really want it now.

Ok, but I really want it now.

 

December 12, 2012. Animals, Art, Rectangles.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

